Trassem (population 1.163)
The official tourist centre of Trassem, with a population of 1,200, is surrounded by forests and meadows in the quiet, charming Leukbachtal in the Saar-Hunsrück conservation area. The locality of Trassem owes its name to St. Erasmus and from the Middle Ages onwards belonged to the electoral office of Saarburg. Distinctive cross-houses from the 19th century have preserved the overall appearance of the town. The house of the former electoral landlord on Kirchstrasse dates from the 17th century. The Catholic parish church of St. Erasmus was built in 1893 after the destruction of the old chapel. Towards Saarburg is a cruciform chapel with a shaft cross dating from 1577 embedded in the side wall.
Trassem is an ideal starting point for active recreation. The area is particularly suitable for departing on a hike through the idyllic Leukbachtal to the "Switzerland of Kollesleuk" or to the rock trail in Kastel-Staadt.
Accommodation in hotels, bed and breakfasts and holiday homes, bowling, barbecue facilities, tennis, festival in June, trout breeding in the Rosengarten, forest adventure centre, Nordic walking obstacle course, mountain bike routes with a freeride trail, forest adventure trail, wellness and sauna in the hotel