Kanzem (population 642)
Kanzem is situated in a charming landscape on an island in the Saar with the Saar canal with its lock as well as the oxbow flowing around it. The unspoilt oxbow with the Saar floodplain together with some former gravel pits form a uniquely symbiotic nature reserve. An informative brochure offers a guide to the village and landscape ecology along the nature trail “Nature Trail on the Saar Oxbow”. The Kanzem district was first documented in 1030. The original of the word is interpreted as being pre-Roman and points to an early settlement. The history of the area is closely associated with that of its neighbour, Wiltingen. Both areas formed a Luxembourgian enclave in the territory of the Trier Electorate in early modern times. This situation ended with the occupation of Trier by the French revolutionary army in 1794. A particular feature of Kanzem is its tradition of aristocratic and ecclesiastic vineyards and the villa culture which flowed from this. The local image is marked by beautifully restored farmhouses and narrow, tidy lanes.
Accommodation in holiday homes, glass workshop, ceramic studio, film and video studios, canal lock, renovated houses and vineyards as part of the village restoration, angling, garden of life, ecological nature trail, barbecue facilities, wine tasting, local wine festival on the 3rd weekend in August, culture days in the first week of October. Nature reserve in the gravel pits, enoteca "Buch und Wein", boules